Sharovatov’s Weblog

April news

Posted in no category by sharovatov on 13 April 2009

I’m starting blogging actively – every day I will spend hour or more on my blog. Hope it’ll be interesting :)

This Saturday I came back from Sun Tech Days ‘09 Saint Petersburg. Good organization but awful technical side (to me) – no interesting lectures, no interesting technologies.

Sun’s in the deep trouble – IBM’s not buying them, nobody wants to invest, more and more employees are fired, and even Monty left them in February.

Mysql – they’re still trying to catch up with major DBs. Finally 5.1 release, the main thing they were spending time on was fixing bugs in 5.0. Hope Mysql’s not dying.

NetBeans 6.5 – really interesting IDE for java and all related stuff. Went to hands-on lab and was really impressed. I’ll spend some time on playing with it later.

OpenSolaris – never used it as a server OS, but when I asked Sun engineers if it’s going to work on my MSI Wind U100 laptop – they said that the core would certainly work, but they weren’t sure about wi-fi, ethernet controller, webcam, bluetooth, cardreader and sound. Sigh. OpenSolaris on the desktop? I don’t have time to waste, sorry.

JavaFX mobile – impressive! I had a feeling that I didn’t know what capabilities my cellphone had! That’s something to look at in the future.

Sun terminal thin client stations – weird technology – it’s got no CPU/HDD, but just Ethernet controller, Video card and Javacard reader. So basically it takes video stream from the network and displays it on the 19” LCD screen. The cost without the display is $349 in USA. I don’t think this Sun thin client has any advantages over other thin clients, but it has serious drawback – vendor lock-in. With normal thin client (that has CPU/memory/some storage) you can choose any terminal server implementation – be it either Window Terminal Server, Sun, or X Server. And giving that price of this Sun thin client is the same with a desktop PC based on mini-ITX chipset (the one with integrated Intel Atom 330) – what’s the point of having a thin terminal that can only be plugged in to Sun server when for the same price you can have full-blown office desktop (and if you need thin clients, you’ll save even more as you won’t need HDDs for your mini-ITX machines)?

Making a conclusion – the conference was great – not because the information was really interesting or I found out something new – no, just because it made me think about what I know and how I can apply my knowledge and experience to real life and business needs of the company where I work.

Tagged with: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

