Sharovatov’s Weblog

Opera 10 Beta, BSOD

Posted in browsers, windows 7 by sharovatov on 4 June 2009

Just downloaded and installed Opera 10 Beta on my MSI Wind U100 laptop. It made quite a good impression on me – small footprint and quick download, fast load time. Much faster than Firefox. Displaying big pages with images, animated GIFs, YouTube flash movies – working really fast in situations where Google Chrome nearly dies (or eats CPU as if it’s encoding video).

But then I tried opening leprosorium.ru and – voila – Blue Screen Of Death. I haven’t seen BSOD for 10 years – last time I’ve seen it in Windows 98 when I ran con\con :). I don’t know how Opera 10 managed to kill my Windows 7 RC (build 7100), but here’s two memory dumps that Windows 7 prepared: 1 and 2 (I tried twice). No antivirus is installed, UAC is enabled, nothing really specific about the laptop, just plain system.

However, it works fine on my work PC. Just don’t know what to think. Will wait for the final release.

Update: I’d like to thank Sam Zhang from Microsoft IIS Media Team for looking at my crash damp – the problem was in my network card driver. I updated the drivers and everything’s working fine now.

Tagged with: ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sam Zhang said, on 5 June 2009 at 12:24 am

    Hello Sharovatov,

    I looked at your crash dump (the first one). It was caused by RTL8187Se.sys which should be your NIC driver.

    Thanks,
    Sam Zhang
    Microsoft IIS Media Team

  2. sharovatov said, on 5 June 2009 at 6:18 am

    Hi Sam!

    I’ll try updating my RTL drivers.

    Thanks for your time!
    WBR,
    Vitaly Sharovatov

  3. victor said, on 8 June 2009 at 1:01 pm

    May be, the matter is that leprosorium is a myth?

  4. sharovatov said, on 8 June 2009 at 7:47 pm

    you’re absolutely right, my friend. It doesn’t exist.


Leave a Reply

